×

Please fill out the form below, and our sales team will be in contact shortly.

Close × Home Record Retrieval Record Retrieval for Plaintiffs Record Retrieval for Defense Firms New York Record Retrieval for Law Firms State Medical Record Copying Fees Machine Learning Machine Learning Integration Microsoft Office 365 Google G-Suite Radiology Disc (DICOM) Viewer Filevine Clio Practice Panther Soluno Dropbox AutoPay with Stripe DocuSign USPS FTP & Secure FTP (SFTP) Information Security Security Solutions Threat Management Compliance Services About Us Resources Blog Contact Us Information Security Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy

Medical Record Fees

Disclaimer: Fee statutes are subject to change. States adopt new rules related to medical record copying fees periodically. The information provided here is the most up to date available as of the original date of publication. Several states update their medical record copying fees annually based on the consumer price index. Also, several states provide different fees for worker’s compensation cases or waive fees for furnishing a record if the record is requested for the purpose of supporting a claim or appeal under any provision of the Social Security Act or any federal or state financial needs-based benefit program. This information is meant as a guide and should be independently confirmed for your individual circumstances or reason for requesting medical records.

ALABAMA


Read more

ALASKA

  • There is no Alaska statute regarding the cost of copying medical records.
  • Note: A patient is entitled to inspect and copy any records developed or maintained by a health care provider or other person pertaining to the health care rendered to the patient.
  • Source: AK Stat § 18.23.005 (2019)
  • http://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#18.23.005

Read more

ARIZONA

  • A reasonable fee may be charged.
  • Providers may not charge fees when providing information from the medical records to another health care provider, a patient, or a patient’s decision maker when the information is sought in relation to providing or obtaining care.
  • The Arizona medical board, department of health services, local health departments, and board of osteopathic examiners are not subject to a fee when requesting medical records.
  • Source: AZ Rev Stat. §12-2295 (2013)
  • https://www.azleg.gov/ars/12/02295.htm

Read more

ARKANSAS

  • Cost of each photocopy, excluding x-rays, shall not exceed $0.50 per page for the first 25 pages $0.25 for each additional page over 25 pages
  • A labor charge not exceeding $15.00 may be added for each request OR a reasonable retrieval fee for stored records of a hospital, a physician's office, or an ambulance provider may be added to the photocopy charges, only if the requested records are stored off-site.
  • Actual cost of any required postage may also be charged.
  • Source: AR Code § 16-46-106 (2016)
  • http://www.armedicalboard.org/Professionals/pdf/Act767.pdf

Read more

CALIFORNIA

  • $0.10 per page for standard reproduction of documents of a size 81/2 x 14 inches or less $0.20 per page for copying of documents from microfilm
  • Actual costs for the reproduction of oversize documents or the reproduction of documents requiring special processing which are made in response to an authorization
  • Reasonable clerical costs incurred in locating and making the records available to be billed at the maximum rate of $16.00 per hour per person, computed on the basis of $4.00 per quarter hour or fraction thereof
  • Actual postage charges
  • Actual costs, if any, charged to the witness by a third person for the retrieval and return of records held by that third person
  • Source: CA Ev Code §1158 (2012)
  • https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=EVID&sectionNum=1158

Read more

COLORADO

  • $18.53 for the first ten pages
  • $0.85 per page for the next thirty pages
  • $0.57 per page for each additional page
  • $1.50 per page if the medical records are stored on microfilm
  • Actual reproduction costs for each copy of a radiograph
  • $10.00 for certification of the medical records
  • Actual postage and electronic media costs
  • Applicable taxes
  • Source: CO Rev Stat § 25-1-801 (2018)
  • https://codes.findlaw.com/co/title-25-health/co-rev-st-sect-25-1-801.html

Read more

CONNECTICUT

  • No provider shall charge more than $0.65 per page, including any research fees, handling fees or related costs, and the cost of first class postage.
  • Provider may charge a patient the amount necessary to cover the cost of materials for furnishing a copy of an x-ray.
  • Source: CT Gen Stat § 20-7c (2016)
  • https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_369.htm#sec_20-7c

Read more

DELAWARE

  • $2.00 per page for pages 1-10
  • $1.00 per page for pages 11-20
  • $0.90 per page for pages 21-60
  • $0.50 per page for pages 61 and above
  • Actual cost of postage or shipping
  • When the type of record requested cannot be photocopied (such as radiology films or fetal monitoring strips), practices may charge the cost of reproducing the records.
  • Source: DE Admin. Code 24-1700-29 (2009)
  • https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/medicalpractice/record_fees/

Workers Compensation:

  • Retrieving, copying and transmitting existing medical reports and records, to include copying of medical notes and/or records supporting a bill or invoice for charges for treatment or services:
    • $25.00 for search and retrieval
    • $1.25 per page for first 20 pages
    • $.90 per page for pages 21 through 60
    • $.30 per page for pages 61 and thereafter
  • Completion and transmission of any statutorily required report, form or document by a physician/health care provider: $30.00.
  • Source: 19 Del. Adm. C. 1341.4.16 (2016)
  • https://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title19/1000/1300/1340/1341.shtml

Read more

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

  • A licensed physician may provide a summary report of the patient's medical record in lieu of copying the record if the patient consents.
  • A licensed physician may charge a reasonable fee for duplicating records and the fee may be required prior to providing the records in non-emergency situations.
  • Source: DC Mun. Regs. 17-4612 (2017)
  • http://dcrules.elaws.us/dcmr/17-4612

Read more

FLORIDA

  • Fee may include sales tax and actual postage.
  • Fee for non-paper records not to exceed $2.00 per page
  • Fee for paper records may not exceed $1.00 per page
  • A fee of up to $1.00 may be charged for each year of records requested.
  • A patient whose records are copied or searched for the purpose of continuing to receive medical care is not required to pay a charge for copying or for the search.
  • Source: FL Stat § 395.3025 (2016)
  • http://www.flsenate.gov/laws/statutes/2011/395.3025

Workers Compensation:


Read more

GEORGIA

  • Fee of up to $25.88 may be charged for search, retrieval, and other direct administrative costs
  • Fee of up to $9.70 per record for certification
  • $0.97 per page for 1-20 pages
  • $0.83 per page for 21-100 pages
  • $0.66 per page for over 100 pages
  • To the extent the request for medical records includes portions of records which are not in paper form, including but not limited to radiology films, models, or fetal monitoring strips, the provider shall be entitled to recover the full reasonable cost of such reproduction.
  • Source: O.C.G.A §31-33-3 (adjusted based on CPI in 2019)
  • https://dch.georgia.gov/medical-records-retrieval-rates

Workers Compensation:


Read more

HAWAII


Read more

IDAHO

  • There is no Idaho statute regarding the cost of copying medical records.

Read more

ILLINOIS

  • $29.09 Handling Charge.
  • $1.09 per page for pages 1-25
  • $0.73 per page for pages 26-50
  • $0.36 per page for pages in excess of 50
  • Actual postage or shipping charge
  • The facility or healthcare practitioner may charge for the reasonable cost of all duplication of record material or information that cannot routinely be copied or duplicated on a standard commercial photocopy machine such as X-ray films or pictures.
  • For electronic records, retrieved from a scanning, digital imaging, electronic information or other digital format in an electronic document, a charge of 50% of the per page charge for paper copies listed above. This per page charge includes the cost of each CD Rom, DVD, or other storage media.
  • Source: 735 ILCS 5/8-2005 (Adjusted based on CPI in 2020)
  • https://illinoiscomptroller.gov/agencies/resource-library/statutorily-required/copying-fees-adjustments/

Read more

INDIANA

  • $1.00 per page for the first 10 pages.
  • $0.50 per page for pages 11-50
  • $0.25 per page for pages over 50
  • The provider or the medical records company may collect a labor fee not to exceed $20.00.
  • If the provider or medical records company collects a labor fee, the provider or medical records company may not charge for making and providing copies of the first 10 pages of a medical record.
  • The provider or medical records company may charge the actual costs of mailing the medical record.
  • The provider or the medical records company may collect an additional $10.00 if the request is for copies to be provided within 2 working days.
  • The provider or medical records company may collect a charge not to exceed $20.00 for certifying a patient's medical record.
  • Source: 760 IAC 1-71-3 (2005)
  • http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac//xml/old-ir/Vol29/02Nov/02F760050026.PDF

Read more

IOWA

  • Fee equal to the actual cost of production
  • Fee not to exceed the rates established by the workers compensation commissioner for copies of records in workers compensation cases:
  • A patient or a patient's legal representative or a patient's attorney is entitled to one copy free of charge of the patient’s complete billing statement, subject only to a charge for the actual costs of postage or delivery charges incurred in providing the statement.
  • If requested, the provider shall include an affidavit certifying that the records, images, or billing statement produced are true and accurate copies of the originals for an additional fee not to exceed ten dollars.
  • Fees charged are not subject to a sales or use tax.
  • Source: IA Code § 622.10 (2019)
  • https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/622.10.pdf

Workers Compensation:

  • The amount paid for furnishing duplicates of records shall be the accrual expense to prepare duplicates not to exceed the following:
    • $20 for 1-20 pages
    • $20 plus $1 per page for 21-30 pages
    • $30 plus $0.50 per page for 31-100 pages
    • $65 plus $.25 per page for 101-200 pages
    • $90 plus $.10 per page for more than 200 pages
  • The actual expense of postage
  • No other expenses shall be allowed.
  • Source: Iowa Admin. Code r. 876-8.9 (85,86) (2016)
  • https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/07-15-2009.876.8.9.pdf

Read more

KANSAS

  • A covered entity may impose "reasonable", cost-based fees for copying medical records.
  • The fee may include only the cost of supplies (including cost of paper and/or electronic media), labor, and postage.
  • If the patient has agreed to receive a summary or explanation of his or her protected health information, the covered entity may also charge a fee for preparation of the summary or explanation.
  • Source: 45 C.F.R. 164.524(c) (2014) [Note that this federal law governs in absence of any state law.]
  • https://www.kmsonline.org/resources/practice-operations/medical-records/160-allowable-charges-for-copying-records

Workers Compensation:


Read more

KENTUCKY

  • Upon a patient's written request, a hospital shall provide, without charge to the patient, a copy of the patient's medical record.
  • A copying fee, not to exceed one dollar ($1) per page, may be charged by the health care provider for furnishing a second copy of the patient's medical record upon request either by the patient or the patient's attorney or the patient's authorized representative.
  • Source: KRS 422.317 (1996)
  • https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=18145

Workers Compensation:

  • Charges for copies of medical records in a workers' compensation case shall not exceed $0.50 per page
  • Actual cost of postage if the records are to be mailed
  • If a party requests certified copies of medical records, the fee charged by the medical provider for a certification of records shall not exceed a maximum of $10.00
  • Source: 803 KAR 25:160 (2019)
  • https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/803/025/160.pdf

Read more

LOUISIANA

  • Paper or digital copies shall be provided upon payment of a reasonable copying charge, not to exceed $1.00 per page for the first 25 pages
  • $0.50 per page for 26 to 350 pages
  • $0.25 per page thereafter
  • Handling charge not to exceed $25.00 for hospitals, nursing homes, and other health care providers
  • The charges for providing digital copies shall not exceed $100.00 plus all postage charges actually incurred.
  • If the treatment records exist in both digital form and paper form, the maximum limit of $100.00 shall apply only to the portion of records stored in digital form.
  • If requested, the health care provider shall provide the requestor, at no extra charge, a certification page setting forth the extent of the completeness of records on file.
  • X-Rays and other imaging media:
    • Patient X-rays, and other imaging media, upon payment of reasonable reproduction costs and a handling charge of $20.00 for hospitals and $10.00 for other health care providers.
    • The charges for providing digital imaging media copies shall not exceed $200.00, plus all postage charges actually incurred.
    • If requested, the health care provider shall provide the requestor, at no extra charge, a certification page setting forth the completeness of the X-rays and other imaging media on file.
  • Source: Louisiana Revised Statutes 40:1165.1 (2018)
  • https://legis.la.gov/Legis/law.aspx?d=964709

Read more

MAINE

  • The charge for copies of records may not exceed $5.00 for the first page
  • $0.35 for each additional page.
  • Up to a maximum of $250.00 for the entire medical record
  • If a medical record exists in a digital or electronic format, the hospital may assess reasonable actual costs of staff time to create or copy the medical record and the costs of necessary supplies and postage. Actual costs may not include a retrieval fee or the costs of new technology, maintenance of the electronic record system, data access or storage infrastructure. Charges assessed under this paragraph may not exceed $150.00.
  • Source: 22 ME Rev Stat § 1711-A (2018)
  • https://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/Statutes/22/title22sec1711-A.html

Read more

MARYLAND

  • Preparation fee of $22.88 if the records are sent to another provider or a person other than the patient or the patient’s personal representative
  • Actual cost of postage and handling
  • For Paper Records: Copying fee not to exceed $0.83 per page
  • For Electronic Records: 75% of the paper record copying fee up to a maximum of $81.63 per request
  • Source: MD Health Gen Code § 4-304 (adjusted based on CPI in 2018)
  • https://www.montgomerymedicine.org/docs/Medical-Records-Fee-1-31-18.pdf

Read more

MASSACHUSETTS


Read more

MICHIGAN

  • Initial fee of $25.38 per request for a copy of the record.
  • $1.27 per page for the first 20 pages.
  • $0.63 per page for pages 21 through 50.
  • $0.25 for pages 51 and over
  • If the medical record is in some form or medium other than paper, the actual cost of preparing a duplicate
  • Any postage or shipping costs incurred by the health care provider, health facility, or medical records company in providing the copies
  • Any actual costs incurred by the health care provider, health facility, or medical records company in retrieving medical records that are 7 years old or older and not maintained or accessible on-site
  • Source: MI Comp Law §333.26269 (adjusted based on CPI in 2020)
  • https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/Medical_Records_Access_Fees_2020_683553_7.pdf

Read more

MINNESOTA

  • $1.44 per page for copy charges
  • $19.19 for retrieval fees
  • Providers may charge a patient no more than the actual cost of reproducing x-rays, plus no more than $10.00 for the time spent retrieving and copying the x-rays.
  • Source: MN Stat § 144.292 (adjusted based on CPI in 2020)
  • https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/notices/docs/maxcharge.pdf

Workers Compensation:


Read more

MISSISSIPPI

  • $ 20.00 for pages one 1-20
  • $1.00 per page for the next 80 pages
  • $0.50 per page for all pages thereafter
  • 10% of the total charge may be added for postage and handling
  • $15.00 for retrieving medical records in archives at a location off the premises where the facility/office is located.
  • $25.00 for executing a medical record affidavit when requested
  • Source: MS Code § 11-1-52 (2018)
  • https://law.justia.com/codes/mississippi/2015/title-11/chapter-1/section-11-1-52

Read more

MISSOURI

  • Paper Records: $26.06 plus $0.60 per page for the cost of labor and supplies for copies provided in paper form and $24.40 for additional costs if records are maintained off-site.
  • Electronic Records: $26.06 plus $0.60 per page, or $114.17 total, whichever is less, for copies provided electronically.
  • Postage, to include packaging and delivery cost
  • Notary fee, not to exceed $2.00, if requested.
  • Source: MO Rev Stat § 191.227 (adjusted based on CPI in 2020)
  • https://health.mo.gov/atoz/fees.php

Read more

MONTANA

  • A reasonable fee for providing health care information may not exceed $0.50 for each page for a paper copy or photocopy.
  • A reasonable fee may include an administrative fee that may not exceed $15.00 for searching and handling recorded health care information.
  • Source: MT Code § 50-16-540 (2017)
  • https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/50/16/50-16-540.htm

Read more

NEBRASKA

  • $20.00 as a handling fee
  • $0.50 per page as a copying fee
  • A provider may charge for the reasonable cost of all duplications of medical records which cannot routinely be copied or duplicated on a standard photocopy machine.
  • A provider may charge an amount necessary to cover the cost of labor and materials for furnishing a copy of an X-ray or similar special medical record. If the provider does not have the ability to reproduce X-rays or other records requested, the person making the request may arrange, at his or her expense, for the reproduction of such records.
  • Source: NE Code § 71-8404 (2018)
  • https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=71-8404

Read more

NEW HAMPSHIRE

  • The charge for the copying of a patient's medical records shall not exceed $15.00 for the first 30 pages or $0.50 per page, whichever is greater
  • Copies of filmed records such as radiograms, x-rays, and sonograms shall be copied at a reasonable cost.
  • Source: NH Rev Stat § 332-I:1 (2018)
  • http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xxx/332-I/332-I-1.htm

Read more

NEW JERSEY

  • For Hospitals:
    • The fee for copying records shall not exceed $1.00 per page or $100.00 per record for the first 100 pages.
    • For records which contain more than 100 pages, a copying fee of no more than $0.25 per page may be charged for pages in excess of the first 100 pages, up to a maximum of $200.00 for the entire record.
    • A search fee of no more than $10.00 per patient per request. (Although the patient may have had more than one admission, and thus more than one record is provided, only one search fee shall be permitted for that request. The search fee is permitted even though no medical record is found as a result of the search.)
    • A postage charge of actual costs for mailing.
    • Source: N.J.A.C. 8:43G-15.3 (2012)
    • http://www.njha.com/media/302738/2012-June-NJ-Hospital-Licensing-Standards-2.pdf
  • For Other Medical Providers:
    • $1.00 per page or $100.00 for the entire record, whichever is less
    • If the record requested is less than 10 pages, the licensee may charge up to $10.00 to cover postage and the miscellaneous costs associated with retrieval of the record.
    • If the licensee is electing to provide a summary in lieu of the actual record, the charge for the summary shall not exceed the cost that would be charged for the actual record.
    • The reproduction of x-rays or any other material within a patient record which cannot be routinely copied or duplicated on a commercial photocopy machine shall be no more than the actual cost of the duplication of the materials, or the fee charged to the licensee for duplication, plus an administrative fee of the lesser of $10.00 or 10 percent of the cost of reproduction to compensate for office personnel time spent retrieving or reproducing the materials and overhead costs.
    • Source: N.J.A.C. 13:35-6.5 (2020)
    • https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/regulations/Chapter-35-State-Board-of-Medical-Examiners.pdf

Read more

NEW MEXICO


Read more

NEW YORK


Read more

NORTH CAROLINA

  • The maximum fee for each request shall be $0.75 per page for the first 25 pages,
  • $0.50 per page for pages 26 to 100
  • $0.25 for each page in excess of 100 pages
  • The health care provider may impose a minimum fee of up to $10.00, inclusive of copying costs.
  • Fees are inclusive of searching, handling, copying, and mailing medical records to the patient or the patient's designated representative.
  • A reasonable professional fee charged by a physician for the review and preparation of a narrative summary of the patient's medical record.
  • Source: NC Gen Stat § 90-411 (2014)
  • https://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_90/GS_90-411.html

Read more

NORTH DAKOTA

  • The following charges include an administration fee, retrieval fee, and postage expense.
  • For Paper Copies:
  • $20.00 for the first 25 pages
  • $0.75 per page after 25 pages
  • For Electronic, digital, or other computerized format:
  • $30.00 for the first 25 pages
  • $0.25 per page after 25 pages.
  • Source: ND Cent Code § 23-12-14 (2011)
  • https://www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/t23c12.pdf#nameddest=23-12-14

Read more

OHIO


Read more

OKLAHOMA

  • When requested by the patient:
    • $0.50 for each page, not including any x-ray or other photograph or image or pathology slide
    • $5.00 for each x-ray, other photograph or image, or pathology slide
    • No fee may be charged for searching, retrieving, reviewing, and preparing medical records of the person
    • No mailing fee shall be charged for copies provided by facsimile
    • In addition to the above provisions, third party requestors shall pay a base fee of $10.00 plus postage or delivery fee.
  • The fee for electronic records shall be $0.30 per page, with a maximum charge of $200.00, plus delivery fee (no postage shall be charged).
  • 76 OK Stat § 76-19 (2015)
  • https://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?CiteID=439160

Read more

OREGON

  • No more than $30.00 for copying 10 or fewer pages of written material
  • no more than $0.50 cents per page for pages 11 through 50
  • no more than $0.25 cents for each additional page;
  • A bonus charge of $5.00 if the request for records is processed and the records are mailed by first class mail to the requester within seven business days after the date of the request;
  • Actual Postage costs to mail copies of the requested records
  • Actual costs of preparing an explanation or summary of the health information, if such information is requested by the patient
  • Actual costs of reproducing films, x-rays, or other reports maintained in a non-written form
  • Source: OR Rev Stat § 192.563 (2017)
  • https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/192.563

Read more

PENNSYLVANIA

  • Search and retrieval fee: $23.04 (cannot be charged if a patient is requesting his or her own record)
  • Pages 1 through 20 – $1.58 per page
  • Pages 21 through 60 – $1.17 per page
  • Pages 61 and after – $0.40 per page
  • $2.33 per page for microfilm copies
  • Actual cost of postage, shipping and delivery of the requested records
  • The charges listed above do not apply to an X-ray film or any other portion of the medical record which is not susceptible to photo static reproduction.
  • Production of records to support any claim under Social Security or any Federal or State financial needs-based program - $29.72 flat fee
  • Supplying records requested by a District Attorney - $23.45 flat fee
  • 48 Pa.B. 7712 (adjusted based on CPI in 2020)
  • http://www.pacodeandbulletin.gov/Display/pabull?file=/secure/pabulletin/data/vol48/48-50/1939.html

Read more

RHODE ISLAND

  • Fee for clerical services, research, and handling of $25.00, inclusive of shipping costs and the costs of data retrieval and/or the data storage device used to transport the medical records.
  • $0.50 per page for the first 100 pages
  • $0.25 per page for all pages thereafter
  • In no event shall the charge for pages exceed $100.00.
  • Actual shipping costs
  • Copies of X-rays or films not reproducible by photocopy shall be provided at the health care provider's actual cost for materials and supplies.
  • A special handling fee of $10.00 may be charged if the records must be delivered to the patient or authorized representative or third-party requestor within 48 hours of the request.
  • Source: RI Gen L 23-1-48 (2017)
  • http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE23/23-1/23-1-48.HTM

Read more

SOUTH CAROLINA


Read more

SOUTH DAKOTA


Read more

TENNESSEE

Workers Compensation:


Read more

TEXAS

  • Hospitals
    • Hospitals may charge a basic retrieval or processing fee, which must include the fee for providing the first 10 pages of copies and which may not exceed $48.77
    • $1.64 per page for the 11th through the 60th page
    • $0.80 per page for the 61st through the 400th page
    • $0.44 per page for any remaining pages of the provided copies
    • If the requested records are stored on microfilm, a retrieval or processing fee, which must include the fee for providing the first 10 pages of the copies and which may not exceed $74.30 and $1.69 per page thereafter
    • If the requested records are provided on a digital or other electronic medium and the requesting party requests delivery in a digital or electronic medium, including electronic mail a retrieval or processing fee, which may not exceed $88.36
    • Actual cost of mailing, shipping, or otherwise delivering the provided copies
    • The hospital or its agent may charge a reasonable fee for execution of an affidavit or certification of a document.
    • The hospital may charge a reasonable fee for written responses to a written set of questions, not to exceed $10.00 for a set
    • Source: Texas Health and Safety Code, §241.154(e) (adjusted based on CPI in 2020)
    • https://hhs.texas.gov/sites/default/files/documents/doing-business-with-hhs/provider-portal/facilities-regulation/hospitals/hospital-medical-record-fees.pdf
  • Clinics

Read more

UTAH


Read more

VERMONT

  • A custodian may impose a charge that is no more than a flat $5.00 fee or no more than $0.50 per page, whichever is greater.
  • A custodian may charge an individual a fee, reasonably related to the associated costs, for providing copies of X-rays, films, models, disks, tapes, or other health care record information maintained in other formats.
  • Source: 18 V.S.A. § 9419 (2017)
  • https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/18/221/09419

Read more

VIRGINIA

  • A reasonable fee may be charged.
  • For paper records:
    • $0.50 per page for up to 50 pages
    • $0.25 per page thereafter for such copies
    • $1.00 per page for hard copies from microfilm or other micrographic process
    • Fee for search and handling not to exceed $20.00
    • All postage and shipping costs
    • For x-rays- a fee for search and handling not to exceed $10.00 and the actual cost of supplies for and labor of copying the requested X-ray series or study or other imaging study
  • For electronic records:
    • $0.37 per page for up to 50 pages
    • $0.18 per page thereafter
    • Fee for search and handling not to exceed $20.00
    • Plus all postage and shipping costs
    • The total amount charged to the requester for records or papers produced in electronic format pursuant to this subsection, including any postage and shipping costs and any search and handling fee, shall not exceed $150.00 for any request made on and after July 1, 2017, but prior to July 1, 2021, or $160.00 for any request made on or after July 1, 2021.
    • $25.00 per X-ray series or study or other imaging study and a fee for search and handling, which shall not exceed $10.00
  • VA Code § 8.01-413 (2019)
  • https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/8.01-413/

Read more

WASHINGTON

  • $1.17 per page for the first 30 pages;
  • $0.88 per page for all other pages.
  • The provider can charge a $26.00 clerical fee for searching and handling records.
  • If the provider personally edits confidential information from the record, as required by statute, the provider can charge the usual fee for a basic office visit.
  • Source: WAC 246-08-400 (2017)
  • https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-08-400

Read more

WEST VIRGINIA

  • A search and handling fee of $20.00
  • A per page fee of $0.40 for paper copies
  • A per page fee of $0.20 for electronic copies, not to exceed $150.00 (including the search and handling fee)
  • Postage
  • Any applicable taxes.
  • $10.00 for records certified by affidavit
  • A reasonable cost-based fee for the labor cost if preparing the explanation or the summary and for the supplies for creating the explanation or summary
  • If the records are stored with a third party or a third party responds to the request for records in paper or electronic media, the provider may charge additionally for the actual charges incurred from the third party.
  • Source: WV Code § 16-29-2 (2012)
  • http://www.wvlegislature.gov/Bill_Status/bills_text.cfm?billdoc=sb578%20enr.htm&yr=2017&sesstype=RS&i=578

Read more

WISCONSIN

  • $1.14 per page for the first 25 pages
  • $0.86 per page for pages 26 to 50
  • $0.56 per page for pages 51 to 100
  • $0.34 cents per page for pages 101 and above
  • $1.68 per page for microfiche or microfilm copies
  • $11.28 per image for a print of an x-ray
  • Actual shipping costs and any applicable taxes
  • The following apply to requests from anyone other than the patient or a person authorized by the patient:
    • $9.04 to certify the record
    • Retrieval fee of $21.28
  • Wis. Stat. §146.83 (adjusted based on CPI in 2020)
  • https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/wisact146/medical-records-fee.pdf

Read more

WYOMING


Read more

© 2020 YoCierge - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED